source : yahoo.com
what cant Ovo-Lacto vegetarians eat?
Lose weight becoming a veg? HAHAHAHAHA. Sorry, it doesn’t happen, most people just eat way too much pasta and cheese.
Protein: beans/legumes/lentils (we eat lots of mexican food when we’re tired of Indian food
What I’m actively on the lookout for:
=animal rennet in cheese (usually only in fine french cheese, cheap american stuff uses microbial rennet – Love livin’ in the US =) ),
=gelatin in candy or low fat sour cream or certain types of yogurt YOPLAIT IS EVIL (no starbursts, *weeps*, but now and laters are OK),
=depending on how extreme you want to go, in fast food restaurants, whether or not french fries are fried in the same oil as their chicken nuggets (Burger King is safe)
=chicken stock as flavoring in rice and lots of soups (you’ll have to get used to grilling the waiter about how food is prepared, explain stock counts)
=lard in authentic Mexican restaurants
=Food coloring named carmine, carmic acid, or cochineal (made out of beetles, used in red food dye, so be wary of red junk food)
Since your parents support you (which is rare around here), you should also try to allay their fears about nutrition (since you’re lacto-ovo, pretty much anything you’re lacking can be had in the eggs and milk, but all of you should take a multivitamin anyway).
You’ll learn more as you go along, but that covers most of it.
Lacto vegetarianism – Wikipedia – A lacto-vegetarian (sometimes referred to as a lactarian; from the Latin root lact-, milk) diet is a diet that abstains from the consumption of meat as well as eggs, while still consuming dairy products such as milk, cheese, yogurt, butter, ghee, cream, and kefir.Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian*. A vegetarian diet that does include animal byproducts (dairy and eggs). It is interchangeable with being vegetarian. As the name implies, a Flexitarian diet is flexible in that anyone following it can adapt and not strictly adhere to any one style of eating.An ovo-lacto vegetarian (or lacto-ovo vegetarian) is a vegetarian who does not eat animal flesh of any kind, but consumes dairy and egg products.
Vegan, Vegetarian, Pescatarian, Flexitarian, Lacto-Ovo- What's the… – A lacto-ovo vegetarian (lacto means "milk"; ovo means "eggs") will not eat meat, but he or she will consume products Lacto-ovo pros and cons. But are there any problems with a vegetarian diet that includes milk and eggs? The answer is Yes, though the problem seems to be more with milk than eggs.A lacto-ovo vegetarian diet includes both dairy products and eggs in addition to its plant-based cuisine. A vegetarian diet that is poorly planned with respect to nutrient recommendations will not decrease CVD risk and may increase the potential for nutrient deficiencies.Ovo-lacto vegetarians can consume dairy and eggs, but not meat. Jello (I'm guessing you're American?) is made from gelatin(e). Gelatin is made by Protein isn't a big concern-If you choose to eat foods that mock meat like mock chicken nuggets or meatballs, they have vegetable protein in them.
Ovo-lacto vegetarianism – Lacto-ovo vegetarians are vegetarians who eat eggs and egg products and milk and milk products. They are not vegans, who eat neither. On the other hand, virtually all vegetarians refuse to eat products that would be considered most cruelly produced.Lacto-ovo vegetarianism — A lacto ovo vegetarian is a vegetarian who does not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh of any kind, but is willing to consume dairy and egg products.EtymologyThe terminology stems from the Latin Lacto meaning milk , ovo… …The lacto -ovo vegetarian diet can be potentially harmful. Seriously, it can be permanently damaging, if carried out long term. The diet is too low in If you eat a varied diet, you will probably get a balanced diet and sufficient nutrients, but avoid extreme diets like the all-zucchini or the only green stuff diet, etc.